Commercial Free Education

The Campaign for Commercial-Free Education (Ireland) was established in 2005 to address the increasing advertising and sale of commercial products in Irish schools. It is a grassroots body of teachers, parents and concerned individuals who believe that students should not be subject to commercial marketing during school time.

The Campaign for Commercial-Free Education will promote student-centred education, media awareness and the democratic mission of schools where students are considered citizens and not consumers.

The Campaign will seek to raise awareness of commercial presence in schools through the media, at local level meetings and through representative organisations. It will support and publicise those schools who refuse to allow commercial access to students in their care.


INTO Calls for an End to Commercial Exploitation of School Children

50 Primary Principals speak out against Independent Newspapers’ “Building for the Future” promotion

“We the undersigned 50 Primary school principals condemn and refuse to partake in the Irish Independent’s “Building for the Future” scheme being launched this week.
We abhor the quota of 20 tokens per pupil from Independent Newspapers required of all schools wishing to submit a project for this sponsored competition.
Independent Newspapers while posturing as benefactors are, in reality, seeking to exploit schools, boost sales and make life uncomfortable for children whose parents do not buy the sponsors newspapers.

The same Independent Newspapers who have railed ceaselessly about the apparent brevity of our school year now demand that principals spend our days collecting quotas of tokens, pressurising children, pestering parents and wasting teaching time.
Each single stream school that enters (8 classes X 27 children X 20 tokens X €1.80 per copy) must give the teacher-bashing Independent Newspapers €7,776 in sales plus thousands more in free advertising and promotion within the school and wider community.
Our stance is supported by the INTO and the Irish Primary Principals Network whose executives have recommended that schools should be free from commercial presentations aimed at children and their families, including token redemptions schemes such as Building for the Future.
Having suffered months of insult and contempt from the pages of Independent Newspapers, we refuse to act as salespeople and urge other schools to boycott this commercially-driven promotion. We are content to use newspapers generally as aids to literacy development and teaching tools within the classroom.”

John Threadgold - Principal, Leighlinbridge N.S. Co. Carlow
Martin Duffy - Principal, Our Lady's NS Nurney, Co. Carlow
Feargal Hurley - Principal, Scoil an Chroí Ró Naofa, Blarney, Co. Cork
Mícheál Ó Draighneáin - Príomhoide, Scoil Bhailenóra, Corcaigh.
Michael Daly - Principal, Scoil Mhuire Gan Smal B, Glasheen BNS, Cork.
Kenneth McCarthy- Príomhoide, Kilmeen National School, Rossmore, Clonakilty, Co. Cork
Séamus O Connor - Principal, Scoil Bhríde, Crosshaven, Co. Cork.
David Oliver - Principal, Ballyraine NS, Letterkenny, Co. Donegal.
Nóirín Mhic Ualghairg-Príomhoide, Scoil Cholmcille, Duibhlinn Riabhach, Dún na nGall.
Tony Healy - Principal, St. Oliver Plunkett School, Malahide, Co Dublin
Sinead O'Kane - Principal, Griffith Barracks Multi D School, Co. Dublin.
Mark Cunningham- Principal, Holy Family J.N.S, River Valley, Swords, Co Dublin.
Maeve Daly - Príomhoide, Fionnbarra Naofa B.N.S., Cabra West, Dublin 7.
Seán O'Connor- Principal, St. Damian's NS, Walkinstown, Co Dublin
Attracta Hayden - Principal, Glasnevin Educate Together, Church Ave. Dublin 6.
Proinsias Ó hÓgáin - Príomhoide, Scoil San Treasa, Mount Merrion, Co. Dublin.
Angela Power- Principal, St Oliver Plunkett NS, Monkstown, Co. Dublin.
Gerry Cogan- Principal,Our Lady of Consolation Sch, Donnycarney, Dublin 5.
Gráine Mc Gowan- Principal, Mt Anville PS, Stillorgan, Co Dublin.
Miriam Jenkinson- Principal, St. Patrick’s Junior School, Skerries, Co. Dublin.
Ann Creaner- Principal, St Columba's NS, North Strand, Dublin 3.
Jim Ryan- Principal, St. Bernadette's SNS, Quarryvale, Clondalkin, Dublin.
Yvonne Carroll- Principal, St Brigid's Girls School, Killester, Co. Dublin.
Mark Candon- Principal, St. Laurence O’Toole’s CBS, North Wall, Dublin 1.
Breda Murphy- Principal, Newcastle NS, Athenry, Co. Galway.
John Reilly- Príomhoide, S N Cearn Mór, Carnmore, Oranmore, Galway.
Breda Murphy- Principal, Newcastle NS, Athenry, Co. Galway.
Bernadette Moylan- Principal, Ardrahan N.S., Labane, Ardrahan, Co Galway.
Seán Ó hArgáin- Príomhoide, Gaelscoil Osraí, Loch Buí, Cill Chainnigh.
Aisling Tighe- Principal, Creevelea NS, Co. Leitrim
Pádraig Mc Eneany- Principal, St. Finian's NS., Dillonstown, Co. Louth.
Ann-Marie Stenson- Principal, Aghamore NS, Co Mayo
Siobhán Geraghty- Principal, Coogue NS, Co. Mayo.
Mary A. Cawley- Principal, Crossmolina National School, Co Mayo.
Fergal Fitzpatrick- Principal, Bohermeen N.S. Co. Meath.
William Keegan- Principal, St. Columbanus' NS, Ballivor, Co Meath
Damian White- Principal, Scoil Shinchill, Killeigh, Tullamore, Co Offaly.
Emmett Breathnach- Principal, Scoil Charthaigh Naofa, Rahan, Tullamore, Co. Offaly.
Úna Feeley-Principal, Scoil Mhuire Convent Primary Sch, Co. Roscommon
Ríona Lynch- Principal, Cloonfour NS, Rooskey, Co. Roscommon.
Kevin Giblin- Principal, Tibohine N.S.,Castlerea, Co.Roscommon.
John O'Neill- Principal, Summerhill Primary School, Athlone, Co. Roscommon
Joseph Fogarty- Principal, Corballa NS, Co. Sligo
Michelle Bonner- Principal, Stokane NS, Castleconnor Co. Sligo.
Pat O'Halloran- Principal, Monastery School, Tipperary.
Treasa Nic Dhiarmada- Príomhoide, Gaelscoil Chluain Meala, An Baile Gaelach, Cluain Meala. Co Thiobraid Árann.
Siobhan Doyle- Principal, Scoil Eoin Baiste, Galbally, Co. Wexford
Loraine Rösler- Principal, Kilnamanagh N.S. Oulart, Co.Wexford.
Pat Gately- Principal, SN Clochar Mhuire, Wexford.
Rory Healy- Principal, St. Patrick's N.S. Bearna Chlé, Co. Wicklow.